Dawn Fraser Award

Dawn Fraser, born in Balmain, Sydney in 1937, was recognised as one of Australia’s greatest female athletes in 1988. Dawn was the first swimmer to win the same event in three consecutive Olympic Games and the first female to swim the 100m in under one minute. Dawn held thirty-nine world records (27 individual and 12 team) and was the 100m freestyle record holder for sixteen years, from December 1956 until January 1972. Amassing thirty Australian championships (twenty three individual and seven team), eight Olympic medals (four gold and two silver) and eight British Empire and Commonwealth Games medals (six gold and two silver). Dawn has also won the highest number of Olympic Medals of any Australian, male or female, in any sport. Dawn was named Australian of the Year in 1964, made a Member of the Order of the British Empire in 1967 and was awarded with an Order of Australia Medal in 1988. Arguably the crowning glory of Dawn’s career was being named the best female swimmer of the century in 1999 by a panel of jurists including International Olympic Committee President, Mr Juan Antonio Samaranch and Prince Albert of Monaco.

The criteria of the Dawn Fraser Award have been developed by CAS to reflect the achievements and standing of Dawn Fraser in Australia and on the international sporting stage.


  • Achievement at the highest level in international sport
  • International recognition as a sporting champion
  • Recognition for making a significant contribution to the Australian sporting sector and/or general community
  • Availability to the Australian public and supporters
  • Promotion of the Australian culture and character

Past Winners of the Dawn Fraser Award

  • 2000 Karrie Webb – Golf
  • 2001 Sarah Fitz-Gerald – Squash
  • 2002 Patrick Rafter – Tennis
  • 2003 Michael Milton – Skiing
  • 2004 Petria Thomas – Swimming
  • 2005 Grant Hackett – Swimming
  • 2006 Casey Stoner – Motorcycling